Huntsville City Schools Celebrates School Board Recognition Month

Huntsville City Schools is joining other public school systems from all over Alabama to honor local school board members for their dedication to the students in our city as a part of School Board Member Recognition Month. Members were honored tonight at the board meeting by Interim Superintendent Tom Drake and the Huntsville Council of PTAs.  

Mr. Drake commended the group, stating that “each board member spends many hours studying issues and regulations in order to make the tough decisions so we can provide the quality education our community expects. Even though we make a special effort to show our appreciation in January, their contribution is a year round commitment.”

School boards work to raise student achievement by creating a vision for what the community wants, establishing standards, ensuring progress is measured, aligning the systems resources, creating a safe and orderly climate where students can learn and teachers can teach, and focusing attention on the need for continuous improvement.

The members of the Huntsville Board of Education are: President - Elisa Ferrell (District 3), Vice President - Walker McGinnis (District 4), Third Presiding Officer - Beth Wilder (District 2), Michelle Watkins (District 1), and Pam Hill (District 5). 

Board member bios are available by clicking here.

Back to top