Huntsville City Schools Celebrates School Board Recognition Month

This January, Huntsville City Schools, along with other public school systems from all across the state, are honoring local school board members for their service to students, teachers, and the community as a part of School Board Member Recognition Month. Superintendent Dr. Matt Akin recognized each board member at this past board meeting.

Dr. Akin commended each member’s dedication and hard work, stating that “each board member spends many hours studying issues and regulations, to make the tough decisions for providing the high-quality education our community expects for our students. We always make a special effort in January to say thank you, and to remind everyone that each board member works year-round to help our kids."

Some of the ways each school board works to raise student achievement include: establishing standards, maintaining a vision for what the community wants, ensuring progress is measured, aligning the systems resources, creating a safe and orderly climate where students can learn and teachers can teach, and focusing attention on the need for continuous improvement.

The members of the Huntsville Board of Education are: President - Elisa Ferrell (District 3), Vice President - Walker McGinnis (District 4), Third Presiding Officer - Beth Wilder (District 2), Michelle Watkins (District 1), and Pam Hill (District 5).

View more information about HCS Board of Education Members.

Back to top