Huntsville City Schools Honors Twenty National Merit Finalists

Huntsville City Schools received word this week that all twenty of the district’s National Merit Semifinalists have been selected as 2017 National Merit Finalists. This is the largest single number of Finalists from the district in the past several years.  Nationwide, there are a total of 15,000 finalists selected from over 1.6 million students in more than 22,000 high schools. To become a finalist, each student that is a semifinalist and their high school must provide information that includes the student’s academic record, participation in community and school activities, leadership skills, along with other honors and awards.  The National Merit Finalist students were  presented a resolution at the Huntsville Board of Education Meeting on February 16.

In Alabama, there were 213 students from 56 schools selected as semifinalists.  Huntsville City Schools was one of only five school districts in the state that had more than ten semifinalists from a single high school. The Huntsville City Schools students who are National Merit Finalists are:

Huntsville High
  • Mark Simmons
  • Jewel Smith
  • Emma Stowe

New Century Technology High

  • Cody Holland
  • Samuel Thompson

Grissom High

  • Helen D’Agostino
  • Camryn Edwards
  • Jonathon Hubbert
  • Nicholas Jones
  • Alice Kim
  • Joelle Kim
  • Anjali Mahapatra
  • Michael McMeen
  • Jenny Shen
  • Matthew Shustack
  • Jarod Stuart
  • Afura Taylor
  • Shengqing Wang
  • Joseph Westra
  • Aaron Zhai
Back to top