Huntsville City Schools To Recognize Twenty National Merit Semifinalists

Huntsville City Schools recognized the district’s twenty National Merit Semifinalists at tonight’s school board meeting.   Schools in the district held a breakfast this week to honor their award-winning students from the class of 2017. This is the largest single number of semifinalists from the district in the last five years.  In Alabama, there are 213 students from 56 schools that have been selected as semifinalists.  Huntsville City Schools was one of only five school districts in the state that had more than ten semifinalists from a single high school.  Nationwide, there are a total of 16,000 semifinalists selected from over 1.6 million students in more than 22,000 high schools.

The Huntsville City Schools students who have achieved a National Merit Semifinalists are:

Huntsville High
  • Mark Simmons
  • Jewel Smith
  • Emma Stowe
New Century Technology High
  • Cody Holland
  • Samuel Thompson
Grissom High
  • Helen D’Agostino
  • Camryn Edwards
  • Jonathon Hubbert
  • Nicholas Jones
  • Alice Kim
  • Joelle Kim
  • Anjali Mahapatra
  • Michael McMeen
  • Jenny Shen
  • Matthew Shustack
  • Jarod Stuart
  • Afura Taylor
  • Shengqing Wang
  • Joseph Westra
  • Aaron Zhai

To become a finalist, each student that is a semifinalist and their high school must provide information that includes the student’s academic record, participation in community and school activities, leadership skills, along with other honors and awards.  Approximately 90% of the semifinalists will earn a finalist standing, with the announcement expected in February 2017. 

Back to top